Adding Users and Setting Permissions

Sortly simplifies working with a team by allowing you to give team members, employees, or customers access to a specific section of your inventory. This way, they see or interact with only the items that are relevant to them.

Sortly supports three types of users. Owners and Admins will have complete access to all folders in your account. When you add a “member,” they cannot see any information until an owner or admin provides access. Members can be given view-only or edit-and-update permissions.

Note: Adding users and assigning permissions is only available in Sortly Advanced and Ultra plans. The Sortly Free plan does not support multi-user access.

 

In this article, we will outline the following:

How to Invite/Add a User

When adding a new user, you must select what level of permission they will get. There are three different kinds of user permissions, as listed below:

  1. Owner -Access to all folders and settings
  2. Admin -Access to all folders but limited settings (cannot add/manage users or update billing information)
  3. Member -Access to single or multiple folders. Members can be assigned "edit" or "read-only" access for each folder you want them to access. See the screenshots below to give a "member" access to folders. 

To invite/add a new user to your account, navigate to the Manage Team page. 

mceclip0.png

From there, click on Invite User:

mceclip1.png

Enter the user's information, including the user role, and click Send Invite.
(If you are adding a user with the Member level, please follow the instructions here.)

mceclip2.png

Once you click the SEND INVITEbutton, the user will receive an email invite. Once the user accepts the invite, the status will change from Pending Invitation to Accepted.

mceclip3.png

If a user is not receiving the email invite and the status is still Pending Invitation, please have them check their Spam/Junk folder. If they cannot locate the email, please contact support@sortly.com for assistance.

 

Video Walkthrough:

 

How to Set Permissions for the Member Role

1. Click on the settings icon on the folder menu and select Manage Team

mceclip4.png

2. Click on the Invite User button

mceclip5.png

 

3. Enter User Information and choose the User Role of Team Member.Then, choose which Folders you want the user to have access to:

mceclip6.png

4. Click the ADD button next to the Folder you want the User to have access to. Then, choose if you want them to have View Only or Edit access. You can also revoke any previous permissions from this section:

mceclip7.png

5. Click the SEND INVITE button, and the user will receive an email invite. Once the user accepts the invite, the status will change from Pending Invitation to Accepted.

mceclip8.png

If a user is not receiving the email invite and the status is still Pending Invitation, please have them check their Spam/Junk folder. If they cannot locate the email, please contact support@sortly.com for assistance.

Video Walkthrough:

 

How to Add a User Seat

There may be times when you need to add additional user seats to your plan. In these instances, you can navigate to Manage Team. Then, click on Add Seat in the upper right-hand corner:

 

mceclip9.png

Sharing Your Sortly Account with Customers

Adding as a New User

You can share inventory with your customers (if needed) by adding them as a new user within Sortly. To see how to create a new user, click here.

All customers should be given a Member role. To see how to give a Member access to a specific folder and assign permissions (edit or read-only), click here

Without Giving Sortly Access

If you don't wish to give your customers a login, you can export CSV/Excel or PDF reports and send those directly to your clients and customers to share information about the inventory you have on hand. To see how to export reports, please click here.

 

If you cannot add seats in-app or have any issues adding users, please get in touch with support@sortly.com for assistance.

Was this article helpful?
42 out of 54 found this helpful