Manage Team

Sortly simplifies working with a team by allowing you to give team members, employees, or customers access to a specific section of your inventory. This way, they see or interact with only the items that are relevant to them.

Sortly supports three types of users. Owners and Admins will have complete access to all folders in your account. When you add a “member,” they cannot see any information until an owner or admin provides access. Members can be given view-only or edit-and-update permissions.

Note: Adding users and assigning permissions is only available in Sortly Advanced, Ultra, and Enterprise plans. The Sortly Free plan does not support multi-user access.

If you are an Enterprise customer, you can have more Role Permissions. Please see this article for how to set this up.

 

In this article, we will outline the following:

How to Invite/Add a User

When adding a new user, you must select what level of permission they will get. There are three different kinds of user permissions, as listed below:

  1. Owner -Access to all folders and settings
  2. Admin -Access to all folders with limited settings (cannot add users or update billing information, or assign Role Permissions). Exclusive to Enterprise plans, Admins can now assign Role Permissions and invite users as a Team Member or Custom Role.
  3. Team Member -Access to single or multiple folders. Team Members can be assigned "edit" or "read-only" access for each folder you want them to access. See the screenshots below to give a "member" access to folders. 

To invite/add a new user to your account, navigate to the Manage Team page by clicking Settings>User Access Control>Manage Team.

From there, click on Invite User:

Enter the user's information, including the user role, and click Send Invite.

 

The user will receive an email invite once you click the SEND INVITE button. The status will change once the user accepts the invite from Pending Invitation to Accepted.

If a user is not receiving the email invite and the status is still Pending Invitation, please have them check their Spam/Junk folder. If they cannot locate the email, please contact our Support Team.

How to Set Permissions for the Team Member Role

1. Click on the settings icon on the folder menu and select Manage Team

2. Click on the Invite User button

 

3. Enter User Information and choose the User Role of Team Member.

4. Click the ADD button next to the folder you want the user to access. This will give the user Edit permissions under the Team Member Role. If you only want them to view the folder and not make changes, select View Only. You can also revoke any previous permissions from this section:

5. Click the SEND INVITE button, and the user will receive an email invite. Once the user accepts the invite, the status will change from Pending Invitation to Accepted.

If a user is not receiving the email invite and the status is still Pending Invitation, please have them check their Spam/Junk folder. If they cannot locate the email, please contact our Support Team.

 

How to Add a User Seat

There may be times when you need to add additional user seats to your plan. In these instances, you can navigate to Manage Team. Then, click on Add Seat in the upper right-hand corner:

 

Sharing Your Sortly Account with Customers

Adding as a New User

You can share inventory with your customers (if needed) by adding them as a new user within Sortly. To see how to create a new user, click here. All customers should be given a Team Member role.

Without Giving Sortly Access

If you don't wish to give your customers a login, you can export CSV/Excel or PDF reports and send those directly to your clients and customers to share information about the inventory you have on hand. To see how to export reports, please click here.

Was this article helpful?
50 out of 63 found this helpful